Well, here I am, home for the weekend, and for the past hour or so I have been researching Pinterest and playing around with it. It is so intriguing and I am already addicted! Once you start pinning a few things and realizing how everything works on it then it becomes so easy. I think I have gotten the hang of it, although I am still having a little trouble with some things.. 

After being on Pinterest for a while today I started to think about what were all the different things Pinterest could be used for in an education sense. Yes, it's great for people planning weddings and parties and classroom spaces, but what kind of activities could students do while using this website. I thought about it first before looking up ideas and came up with something like the students having to make their own future classroom or business and get ideas from Pinterest. But I couldn't really come up with anything else, so I looked it up. I found a page called "A Teacher's Perspective on Pinterest" and there were so many ideas about ways Pinterest can be used in the classroom! One thing the website stated that really stuck out to me was that Pinterest is a great way to engage students. Pinterest consists of so many different things and can be used to create collaborative boards for group projects and such. Pinterest could also be used for something like a group project done online and at home that involves the students working independently, but pinning ideas onto the same board and then the teacher can just leave comments and feedback right there on their Pinterest account. Pinterest can be an easy and useful way to formulate group projects for students and it would allow them to show their creative sides as well. 

So far I believe Pinterest has been amazing and there are so many things that it can be used for, whether it be educational or just for fun!

I have looked at Skype some more today as well and as I said in my last post, there isn't much more to explore with it. But for obvious reasons it can be used for education too. It is so simple that you could have any kind of business conference on it or it could be used if a child is out of school and needs to see and hear the teacher. It can also be used for the new kinds of ways of teaching like being in different countries and Skyping to talk to each other and learn. 

Both of the Web 2.0 tools I chose have been helpful so far in teaching me more about todays technology and there is no doubt they will continued to be used for many different reasons in my future. 



Leave a Reply.